2016: Leonardo DiCaprio Wins The Oscar

As the title may suggest, I am boldly and prematurely predicting that in a little over a year, Leonardo DiCaprio will win his first, and well deserved Oscar for best actor in a leading role. Anyone who knows of Leonardo DiCaprio, so everyone except for Lindsay Lohan in The Parent Trap, knows that he has not won an Oscar. I personally really like DiCaprio and full-heartedly think he is a multiple Oscar caliber actor. He’s been nominated several times but always lost against admirable competition. The 87th Academy Awards are in a few weeks, and then a year later, Leonardo DiCaprio will have an Oscar. Here is why I believe so: revenant-01_612x381

In this year of 2015, a movie called The Revenant will come out. It is directed and written by Birdman director, Alejandro González Iñárritu, starring Tom Hardy and of course Leonardo DiCaprio. Iñárritu currently has a lot of momentum because of Birdman, and if it does well at the Oscars, he will continue to be very credible and the hype for his next project will be huge. And if it meets or even exceeds expectations, DiCaprio will win best actor.

From what I know about The Revenant, it is about a character played by Tom Hardy who leaves DiCaprio for dead in the woods with a bear, and DiCaprio has to travel hundreds of miles to hunt him down. This to me sounds like something the Academy would love; a one man show, overcoming huge obstacles for a great purpose. If DiCaprio utilizes his intense, dedicated, and transformative skills like he always does, the Academy will have no choice but to give it to him.

It’s long been speculated that the Academy generally nominates their “friends” and the popular, socially relevant films. There was the controversy last year of two members voting for 12 Years A Slave because of its cultural significance without even seeing it. I think it was one of 2013’s best films, but you need to see it to know that. Obviously there’s going to be tons of publicity for the Academy if DiCaprio does win andRevenant will be a great promoter for them. While I don’t think winners should be judged like that, I do believe there is some of that in the voting process. I hope I’m wrong, but recent trends suggest I’m not.

Do I think DiCaprio gave Oscar worthy performances every time he was nominated? Yes. Do I think he was completely better than the rest of the competition? Not necessarily. Last year, Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club was excellent and so was Jamie Foxx in Ray, when he beat him for The Aviator (which I haven’t seen). Do I think this will be his year? Yes. If I keep on answering my own questions, will that make him win? I’ll answer that in a year.

I remember last year during the Oscars, one of my friends said they felt sorry for DiCaprio, and I’m sure others do too. They shouldn’t though. Even though I think him winning is inevitable, if he doesn’t, he won’t be any more hurt than the other great actors who never won Oscars like Tom Cruise, Johnny Depp, Peter O’Toole, and Cary Grant, some still pending. DiCaprio has something that the rest of those actors don’t though: An immensely loyal fan base that recognizes his talent and are campaigning for an Oscar. You don’t see anyone demanding an Oscar for Will Ferrell. Leonardo DiCaprio will always be one of the most prolific actors of this generation, gold statue or not.

It is early in the year, all we have are a few pictures of the movie, so I could be completely off. I also have no idea who else will be on the list of nominees either. But for now, everything thing about this movie shouts Oscars to me, especially for DiCaprio. When he does win, I’ll make sure to refer back to this post from early February 2015. If he doesn’t, I can always delete this with my tail between my legs.

3 thoughts on “2016: Leonardo DiCaprio Wins The Oscar

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | Monster's Movie Mayhem

Leave a Reply

