Movies To Watch On Valentine’s Day – Movie Thoughts

Valentine’s Day is here tomorrow which means today is “Galentine’s” for you Parks And Rec fans. I don’t generally celebrate Valentine’s Day unless I have to. This year I don’t, so I can talk about the perfect Valentine’s Day movies to watch. By this I don’t mean the actual movie, Valentine’s Day, and certainly not 50 Shades Of Grey. Seriously, if no one sees this movie that IS going to be crap then they won’t make two more sequels. The only way they are going to make more movies is if they make more money. So don’t give them money! I’m done with that tiny rant now. I swore I wasn’t going to talk about it so I’m stopping now. Anyway, the following are the movies I would watch tomorrow if I were able to see seven in a day. I also encourage everyone else to see at least one of these if you haven’t.

First up is a classic that honestly, you can watch any day of the year and still find amazing: Casablanca. This is a great love story mixed with parts of a historical drama, filled with wonderful performances by Bogart and Bergman. If you want a great movie to see tomorrow, you can never go wrong with Casablanca.

image

One of my favorite “rom coms” of all time is When Harry Met Sally. Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal are a perfect duo with remarkable chemistry. I can watch this over again and still have a great time, again and again. Watch it just for the restaurant scene. Most will know what I’m talking about.

image

image

I’m a sucker for Meg Ryan. My next pick is Sleepless In Seattle. While not quite the level of Sally, this is a different, almost more endearing film, where the two leads don’t meet till the end. Definitely check this one out. Also check out An Affair To Remember, the movie it references a lot. And You’ve Got Mail, another Hanks/Ryan film.

image

Going closer to the slapstick goofy comedy, but nevertheless one I enjoy is 50 First Dates. In one of Adam Sandler’s best roles, he has to woo Drew Barrymore every single day, over and over again, leading to a enjoyable comedy. Stupid, but enjoyable nonetheless.

image

This is really a back up if you didn’t see it on Groundhog Day. Or if you like it that much, watch it again tomorrow. Groundhog Day. Bill Murray has to live the same day over and over again until… I won’t spoil it. But there is a hidden, romantic feel in this movie that catches you by surprise and makes it all the more better.

This is really a back up if you didn’t see it on Groundhog Day. Or if you like it that much, watch it again tomorrow. Groundhog Day. Bill Murray has to live the same day over and over again until… I won’t spoil it. But there is a hidden, romantic feel in this movie that catches you by surprise and makes it all the more better.

See what I did there?!

I bring this next one up whenever I can, for whatever category, because it is one of my favorites and not enough people have seen it. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind. This is a romantic, science fiction film that deals with memory, perception, and is a beautiful movie with incredible performances by Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet.

image

Last, but definitely not least is The Princess Bride. This movie is pure fun and adventure. And no, it’s not just a kissing movie. It’s a fairy tale, mixed with adventure and sword fights, and of course is very romantic. Watch it a lot and quote it all the time!

image

I haven’t seen every movie. So from prior knowledge and reading lists of good Valentine’s Day movies, here are a couple I haven’t seen that maybe I should:

Moonstruck

It Happened One Night

Before Trilogy

True Romance

Silver Linings Playbook

Let me know if I missed any, or if there are any more movies I should see. I’ll do my best to check them out.

2 thoughts on “Movies To Watch On Valentine’s Day – Movie Thoughts

  1. I love Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind too! Great list overall! My favourite Valentine’s Day movie it To Catch a Thief. Cary Grant and Grace Kelly are great together. Thanks again for the recommendations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

