Do You Want A Boyhood Sequel? – Movie Thoughts

In a recent Q&A interview with Jerry Goldsmith, Richard Linklater talks about his latest film and expresses interest in a Boyhood sequel. Here are his comments:
image

“To be honest… this film first met its audience exactly a year ago and for the first six months of the year, my answer to that was absolutely not. This was 12 years, it was first grade through 12th grade; it was about getting out of high school. I had no idea about another story, there’s nothing to say. It hadn’t crossed my mind.

But I don’t know if it’s been a combination of finally feeling that this is over or being asked a similar question a bunch over the last year, that I thought, well, I wake up in the morning thinking, ‘the 20s are pretty formative, you know?’ That’s where you really become who you’re going to be. It’s one thing to grow up and go to college, but it’s another thing to… So, I will admit my mind has drifted towards [this sequel idea].

http://www.theqandapodcast.com/2015/02/boyhood-q.html?m=1

Clearly Boyhood was supposed to be a one and done film. Now Linklater could be making a sequel. I for one would like to see this, as long as Linklater wants to make it.

What I appreciate most about these comments and the rest of his interview is how he said that he will only make a sequel if he has something to say. He won’t make another just because he wants to work with his friends or for more money. If he finds a good story to tell and film, I will definitely be there to see it. I am certainly glad Linklater made this instead of anyone else.

Boyhood was a simple story with a large execution. Whether you think the 12 years is a gimmick or not, that is a long time working on a project. You can’t blame Linklater for not wanting it to end. I thought the message in Boyhood was beautiful and resonated with a lot of my own life. It captured the now. Now is the most important time in my life. When I graduated high school was the most important time of my life. Now, those times are basically irrelevant. They are not epic stories now, but at the time they were. That is what Boyhood captured perfectly: Every insignificant moment in life that makes it unique and beautiful.
image

You may or may not agree with me. There’s no right or wrong opinion of it. It’s a movie. Whether or not it is good, is entirely up to you. It is inherently just a movie, good or bad. I wouldn’t say I loved it while watching it, but once it ended, I just sat there thinking about my own life and the journey I just took. One that I’ve never taken before.

Could a sequel capture that same thing? The 12 year period of filming would be absent which was the majority of the appeal for it. And I don’t know if I’d want to see Ellar Coltraine on that role again. Nothing against him, but he became more unlikeable to me as he got older. At least he wasn’t glorified as a flawless movie star. I believed who he was throughout.

Another thing Linklater said in his interview was that as Mason grew up, the story didn’t require as much screen time for Patricia Arquette or Ethan Hawke. As it is in life, you drift away from your parents as you prepare to eventually move out. Point is, if Ellar is interested in a sequel as well, they could do it, using his parents in a very small role as necessary.
image
The timeline for Boyhood was very close to mine. I am probably now about a year older than Mason at the end of the film. I think it would be cool to be able to see a story that connects me to my past in Boyhood, then see how my future is portrayed in the sequel. Of course, that demographic is only a small part of the whole audience and I don’t know if that will be as interesting to others.

Of course there is more to tell. Boyhood is about life, and it only showed twelve years of it. Like Linklater said, the 20’s are very formative (or so I’ve heard). Adding those years into Mason’s life story could be just as effective as his childhood.

Linklater has proven that he is good at showing life and all aspects of it. Boyhood and the Before trilogy show that well. Even his other films like School of Rock and Dazed And Confused have great, relatable characters. I trust no one else to do this sequel. No one knows the story better and is as personally connected to it. He literally based the whole movie on his feelings as a child. There’s a of him in every character. In answering the question of whether or not I want to see a sequel, I do if Linklater does.

A lot of people are saying that filming the same actors for years has never been done before. While that’s technically true, there is a series of documentaries that interview the same group of people every seven years from when they’re kids to adulthood. It’s been going on since the 1970’s and it’s called the Up or 7Up Series. They’re on Netflix, I recommend checking them out.

My question: Who else would want to see Boyhood 2?

One thought on “Do You Want A Boyhood Sequel? – Movie Thoughts

Leave a Reply

