Avengers: Age Of Ultron – Trailer Talk

Unless you’re living under a rock, you probably knew the third Avengers: Age Of Ultron trailer was “unlocked” yesterday. And if you’re a normal person, you watched that trailer. Maybe watched it numerous times like me. Before yesterday, most of my anticipation for this movie was from the success of the first Avengers. I thought the first two trailers were good but didn’t really excite me that much. I’m sure it will be great, but the trailers have underwhelmed me. This trailer changed that. Now I cannot wait for May 1st to get here.

image

The second trailer was filled primarily with footage of the first one, so they felt pretty much the same. They suggested that we are in for a darker movie, with a more formidable villain. I like where they seem to be going with this because it is what the first film lacked; characters in peril and not knowing their fates. I think there’s a good chance an established character will die by the end of the movie as well. Not Iron Man or Captain America obviously, but someone else could, Hawkeye probably. James Spader as Ultron has stood out in each of those trailers as well. He looks like he could be one of the best Marvel villains we’ve seen. Yet, overall, I wasn’t overly excited by these trailers.

This third trailer is the one I’ve been waiting for. I have seen all I wanted to, now the next thing I need to see is the movie. It feels like a Marvel movie now, a great one too.

image

I am definitely guilty of over exaggerating my words, but I say this with full implications: James Spader is a perfect choice for Ultron. Every time he speaks, he sounds so intimidating and powerful. I haven’t seen him in his show, The Blacklist, but this guy’s voice is incredible. If you’ve seen The Office episodes with him, you know the power he has over people. There are no strings on him. There are so many great lines he has too, just from the trailers. “I’ll take that from them first” he says about hope. Like the trailers, I think he will be the standout of the movie. While all the Avengers are fighting themselves for that spot, Ultron will come right through as the ultimate one.

Marvel films have always shared the characteristics of being fun. I thought that was something missing from the first trailers. Now they have brought it back. It will be darker, but it will still be fun and feel like the Marvel movie we love. Thor asking Ultron if that was the best he could do, and Cap saying “You had to ask” was great. Blackwidow has some pretty good one liners too.

image

I do not read comic books or know a lot about them. I know about the ones I do because of their movies. So when I saw that person and the end of the trailer, I had no idea who it was. I soon found out his name is Vision. People seem to be excited about this character, so that makes me anxious to see him. However, I do have reservations about this, similar to the worries I have for Batman v Superman. It could turn into a mess if you’re introducing too many characters in one film. I don’t know the roles characters like Scarlet Witch, Quicksilver, and Vision are going to have, but I fear there’s too much on the plate to deal with. It will be close to three hours, which I think will help that. Marvel is also making it, so that comforts me as well.

There are so many great little clips from the trailer as well. That Quicksilver punch, Blackwidow picking up the shield after Cap dropped it, and Bruce/Natasha?? And that shot of all of them running in that forest, Hulk vs Hulkbuster, and of course a post credit scene in the trailer!

image

I loved this trailer. It is the best and last one I want to see. The next new footage I want to see is the entire movie. I have no idea how this movie is going to begin or end, and I cannot wait to see how it does. If there is one group of filmmakers I trust to exceed my heightened expectations, it is Marvel Studios. They have me completely on board for whatever they want to do. Let’s just hope they use some of that talent on Spider-Man.

3 thoughts on “Avengers: Age Of Ultron – Trailer Talk

  1. I have been an advocate of Spader as Ultron since he was announced as the voice, mostly because he kills it as Raymond Reddington in The Blacklist. You should definitely check it out if you have some time.

    As a huge Marvel comics reader myself, it’s refreshing to see the perspective of someone who isn’t exposed to the comics look at this film because I forgot what that feels like to not know about these characters. And it’s great so see you excited to see this film for different reasons than I am. This movie cannot come out soon enough!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely want to see the Blacklist, heard great things about it and Spader is an incredible actor.

      What I love about superhero movies now and everything Marvel is doing, is that they make great movies accessible to people who like the source material and general movie goers. I also love hearing the thoughts of people who do read comics, because there are so many interesting stories to make a movie out of.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

