The Expendables… TV Show? – Movie News

Apparently Fox and Sylvester Stallone are now adapting The Expendables into a television series. I have only one thing to say about that: No.

Okay, I’ll say a little more than that, but it pretty much sums up my thoughts. I’ve seen the first two Expendables films, kind of want to see the third, but I won’t regret it if I don’t ever see it. I thought the first
was fine, and then I liked the sequel even more. They added better actors to the mix and knew what they were: Pure action movies with all of your favorite action stars from the ’80s. This sounded awesome back in 2010, but now we’ve learned it’s not that awesome. I haven’t seen the third part of the franchise because I don’t need to, and I heard it wasn’t very good. I’ve seen all I want to see from those movies, and now I am uninterested in seeing any more.

image

I guess Stallone isn’t though. He has reached some sort of agreement with Fox, and will be the executive producer for the show. It will be similar to the films, only it will feature action stars from ’80s TV. There are a number of reasons I’m not a fan of this news. And one reason I am, which I’ll get to later.

Personally, I don’t really care about seeing TV action stars because I don’t really watch them. For some reason my taste in TV shows is comedies and Breaking Bad. I am not familiar with that much of the characters in the action genre, so that is not something that interests me. I suppose I could grow to like them through the show, but I don’t care at all to see them all in one show right now. That may be an unpopular opinion, I’m not sure.

Regardless of what I think, to do this you need to get these actors to sign on for a weekly television show again. That takes up a lot of time in a schedule and I’m not sure how many people they can get it do star in it. With film, there is usually a larger budget and an immediate paycheck when it hits theaters. That money can then be distributed to all of the actors, because these aren’t unknown guys willing to work cheap. For TV, I presume the actors would make significantly less, at first. But if you can get enough of them to be in it, there’s a better chance of it succeeding.

image

I also want to talk about why Stallone, and Lionsgate, are seemingly so invested in this franchise. It is definitely a cool premise, but everything wears out its welcome eventually. Some franchises just end happily and that’s it, like Indiana Jones… oh wait. Not only is there a TV show in the works, Expendables 4 and 5 are still happening. Two more sequels already? But wait, that’s too sexist, we need a female one too. So they’re ALSO making an Expendabelles. That’s four different stories of the same thing! That is just ridiculous. I know the three films together made $800 million or so, but that’s mostly made up of the money the first two made. The third one was a flop, so unless they start doing something different, I can’t see the next ones having much success.

I said that there is one reason I could get behind this news. And that reason is: I’ve been wrong before. I thought Guardians Of The Galaxy would be awful. It was the complete opposite though. This is the very first piece of news we have for the show. Once we get more, like a cast announcement, I could change my mind. But for now I am against the idea of a TV show. I am willing to give the female version a chance, and a second chance to the sequels, but I don’t want to give away all my chances on one franchise. There’s simply too much developments happening for one franchise.

image

Just because it’s fun, I’m going to name some of the characters I think would be good in the TV adaptation of The Expendables.

Chuck Norris, even though he was in the movie.

Tom Selleck from Magnum P.I.

Crockett and Tubbs fromMiami Vice

Macgyver

The guys from The A Team

Kiefer Sutherland from 24

I’m sure I’m missing some good ones because like I said, I don’t watch a lot of these shows. Let me know any important ones I left out.

And that’s what I think about The Expendables transitioning to TV, and the franchise as a whole. I think the concept can still be entertaining if they improve on what the second film did the best, making it a fun action experience with all of your favorite action heroes. I certainly hope I’m wrong in doubting this decision because I love Stallone and think this franchise could still be great. But for now, all I can do is keep my eyes open and try to stay optimistic.

2 thoughts on “The Expendables… TV Show? – Movie News

  1. Awesome analysis. You’re not missing anything with the 3rd. It’s weird in that it (the series) made such a focus towards older action stars performing pretty hardcore bloody action, and then the third comes with a PG-13 rating with newer characters. That’s not why we watch these movies imo lol!

    And I love action, but I was sorely disappointed in the first, liked the second a bunch more, and got bored with the 3rd quickly. This franchise doesn’t have a strong batting average to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I figured that the third one would suffer from the pg-13 rating. I go into those movies, like you, expecting over the top and violent action. Thats what makes them fun. I just hope they do that better in the next ones. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

