Entourage – Movie Talk

The movie Entourage is fairly black and white. There are no other motives or meanings behind it. It is a film made for the fans of the HBO television series of the same name, and it doesn’t hide that or try to be anything else. I haven’t heard one fan of the show say they didn’t like it’s film adaptation. I’ve also heard plenty of opinions that did not like it at all; those who aren’t the fans.

I have never seen an episode of HBO’s Entourage, just clips here and there. It was never a show I felt the need to watch. Yet, my work gave me Monday off, so I looked at the showtimes for the closest theater and found that Entourage was starting very soon. I had seen the trailer a couple times and thought it looked entertaining. Plus, it teased so many awesome celebrity cameos. That was enough to convince me to check out this film. Keep in mind that I knew virtually nothing about what I was getting into. All I knew was that there was a guy named Turtle and it is set in LA.
image

I decided this film would act as the show’s pilot for me. If I like it, then I can try watching the show. If not, I only wasted a little bit of money. I did enjoy this movie, quite a bit actually. All the characters were entertaining and had great chemistry. It was clear they have been doing this for a while. As an inexperienced viewer here, I didn’t have a lot of trouble getting to know them. There’s some exposition from a TV documentary in the beginning that introduces the main characters a little, probably for the people like me.

The story, which really plays second fiddle here, follows Vincent Chase (Adrian Grenier) and his directorial debut of a feature film. He was handed this by his old agent, now studio executive, Ari Gold (Jeremy Piven). Vince needs more money to finish his “passion project” which can only be done by coercing a father/son duo from Texas to finance the rest of it. Meanwhile, many other subplots take place around these characters and their entourage.
image

I’m not sure how much of this was completely new and how much was continuing stories from the series. There were some characters who seemed to have previously established stories, but they never lost me or made feel like I needed to see the show before.

This film is definitely not a universal film for everyone to enjoy. It is crude and raunchy at times, like I suspect the show is. Like I said, it is for the fans. I cannot talk negatively about it because of this. It knew its intended audience well, and delivered from what I can see. It is not complex in its structure. There are no major arcs or developments that a conventional movie has. It simply shows you a few days in the lives of these people. It was interesting enough though, that I wanted to see more of it. It had a rushed ending and really quick wrap up. It’s a solid run time, but more should have been added to the third act.
image

I’m pretty sure that Billy Bob Thornton and Haley Joel Osment were brand new additions. They played the father and son from Texas that were financing the movie. I would have liked to see more of Thornton, but Osment did have some good scenes. I don’t know the record for cameos in a single movie, but this one has to be close to it. Random celebrities would show up at parties and random places in LA. Some I just noticed in the background, others had one scene, and even Ronda Rousey played into the plot. When reading the credits, there had to have been almost a dozen names I didn’t even see in the movie. It would be worth a second viewing just to find all of them.

The only thing that bothered me more than it should after I saw it was Vince’s movie. Everyone who saw it said it was incredible, but the portion of it I saw was awful. I’m sure it’s part of a joke they were making, but still. Every time someone said it was awesome, I muttered silently that they were idiots and I couldn’t take them seriously. From what I could tell though, it all seemed like a bit of a satire. No one seemed particularly good at their jobs, but they were all successful anyway. Maybe that’s how Hollywood works. On an unrelated note: I really want to see James Cameron’s Aquaman.
image

I had a really good time watching this movie. It knew exactly what it was, delivered on its promise to the fans, and kept me entertained. I would like to start watching the series now, but I don’t know how much motivation I’ll have to go anywhere but Netflix Instant. If it ever comes there, I’ll certainly start binging that. There’s not much more to say about it than that. I have a feeling all fans will enjoy this movie, while others may not. If you’re on the fence, try it out and see for yourself, like I did.

Leave a Reply

