Creed – Trailer Talk

“It ain’t about how hard you can hit, it’s about how hard you can get hit and keep movin’ forward.”

Creed06467.dng

Rocky returns to the screen this Thanksgiving, not with Rocky 7, but with Creed, starring Michael B. Jordan in the lead role. I am a huge fan of the Rocky franchise, have been ever since I saw the first film. Rocky came out in 1976, long before I entered this world. I can appreciate the franchise now, but I will never know what it was like to see Rocky during that time, or its subsequent films. I can only imagine.

It’s an unbelievable feeling, knowing that I can attempt to live in that passed time, waiting to see Rocky Balboa again. And although it’s technically not a Rocky film, I remain overwhelmed with anticipation.

2A22B0B000000578-0-image-a-10_1435742590342

Sylvester Stallone, the man who started it all, writing and playing the character of Rocky, directed 4 of the 5 films (not counting Rocky V, for obvious reasons). Creed is written and directed by Fruitvale Station‘s Ryan Coogler. I think Coogler is the perfect choice for this film. The last collaboration between Coogler and Jordan was a rich character story, with strong emotions, and showed promise.

Stallone knows Rocky better than everyone, but this is about Adonis Creed, Apollo Creed’s son. That is exactly where I want this continued story to go. The days of Rocky boxing are over, for sure now. He can now support newcomer, Jordan, in a newer story. Like it should, Creed will have a different tone, while feeling familiar as well. The trailer felt like an updated version of previous Rocky films. It looks like a 2015 movie, but I also noticed it was different from the lot of movies we have seen this year and years before. It is a perfect fusion of two time periods that I won’t be able to describe until I see the whole film.

Outside of getting me excited to see new footage of Rocky, I will admit that I don’t think the trailer itself wasn’t anything extraordinary. It’s certainly well made, I just can’t see being too excited if it was an original property. The strongest aspect of it is in its power to make you say: “I’m excited to see where this film goes.” It was fairly ordinary in structure, but it’s the subject making me ecstatic.

11331392_516643201826389_1997922595_n

I also didn’t enjoy the music played, granted I don’t like rap in general. If it were in a Rocky trailer, I would be angry and worried. However, it is not, and I am open to a new kind of movie while maintaining some of the style of Rocky. I’m just worried about hearing non-stop rap and a generic, modern day influenced film. I am curious to find out what music will be used, more original scores or songs. And will the Rocky theme be in there as well?

There is one more worry I’ve had since I heard the synopsis, and won’t go away until I see the movie. It is very close to the same thing Rocky V was about. I don’t even like to refer to that film. I only saw it once and will probably never do it again. But just from this trailer and everything else I’ve observed, Creed will be nothing like it. I have a lot of faith in this production, plus they have a pretty good template of what not to do.

41a5fff8-5228-420a-a39a-e87853b82948-bestSizeAvailable

This film is definitely going to pay its respect and honor Rocky. One of the last scenes shows Creed running through Philadelphia in an outfit very similar to Rocky’s, an obvious tribute. A few familiar locations are briefly shown as well, including Mickey’s Gym, which looks like it’s been opened and refurbished. There’s also Rocky’s restaurant, Adrian’s, that we saw in Rocky Balboa. This trailer does a great job at balancing new material and honoring the legacy of Rocky.

There’s not much more I can say about the Creed trailer. It looks incredibly promising and like a proper spinoff to a great franchise. I have my concerns of course, but I have a lot more faith that I will love this movie come Turkey Day.

Leave a Reply

